Discussion: View Thread

2021–2022 Asper School of Business Research Webinar Series: Intimate Partner Violence and the Workplace: Systematic Review and Feminist Conceptual Analysis

  • 1.  2021–2022 Asper School of Business Research Webinar Series: Intimate Partner Violence and the Workplace: Systematic Review and Feminist Conceptual Analysis

    Posted 01-25-2022 04:32
    Edited by Jieying Chen 01-25-2022 04:46
      |   view attached
    Apologies for cross-posting.
    Please join us for the Asper School of Business Research Webinar:
    Intimate Partner Violence and the Workplace: Systematic Review and Feminist Conceptual Analysis

    Presented by Dr. Michelle Greenwood
    Associate Professor, Monash Business School, Monash University, Australia

    Editor-in-Chief, Journal of Business Ethics

    Global Start Times:
    Friday, February 4th, 2022
    3:30 pm - 4:45 pm CST Winnipeg, Chicago

    4:30 pm - 5:45 pm EST Toronto, New York
    9:30 pm - 10:45 pm GMT London
    10:30 pm - 11:45 pm CET Berlin, Paris

    Saturday, February 5th, 2022
    12:30 am - 1:45 am TRT Istanbul, MSK Moscow

    3:00 am - 4:15 am IST New Delhi
    5:30 am - 6:45 am CST Beijing
    8:30 am - 9:45 am AEDT Melbourne


    Please register at the link below:
     

    Presentation Abstract:

    "Intimate partner violence (IPV), is a long-standing, serious, and widespread social issue that necessarily affects and is affected by the workplace. Despite recent and global societal focus on IPV and an explosion of concern about gendered aggression in the workplace (e.g. sexual harassment and the #metoo movement), scant attention has been paid in management and organization studies to organizational responsibilities and responses to IPV. Scholarship exploring the interconnectedness between IPV and the workplace is severely limited and lagging both social debate and workplace practice. It is therefore urgent that we not only take account of what is known in this burgeoning area of concern, but also explore what is not known and what should be known in this domain. Hence we undertake a systematic review and conceptual analysis of the current research at the intersection of IPV and the workplace. We do so using a feminist lens, as we hold that IPV is a deeply gendered phenomenon. Feminist theories and epistemologies provide analytic tools to both highlight gender and challenge the individual decontextualized focus that pervades current thinking. We thus identify both zones of silence (what we do not know) and potentials for engagement (what we should know and do) for future research and action."
     
    For queries, please contact ASBevents@umanitoba.ca.

    Thank you!


    ------------------------------
    Jieying Chen
    Assistant Professor
    Department of Business Administration
    I.H. Asper School of Business, University of Manitoba
    jieying.chen@umanitoba.ca
    ------------------------------

    Attachment(s)