Gender and Diversity in Organizations


GDO Votes 2013

Elections Results

Congratulations to our new officers:

  • Chair Elect: Charmine Hartel
  • Program Chair Elect: Douglas Creed
  • Executive Committee members (in alphabetical order): Jennifer Berdahl, Lisa Leslie, Isabel Metz, Corinne Post

All terms of office start at the end of the annual meeting in Boston

Thank you to all the candidates!

Every Spring, our division elects a Program Chair-Elect and new members for the GDO Executive Committee. Nominations are coordinated by the Past Chair.


The job descriptions for these positions are:

Program Chair Elect

The Program Chair-Elect is responsible for the GDO Professional Development Workshop and will serve as Program Chair, Chair-Elect, Chair, and Past Chair in subsequent years. Nominees for Program Chair-Elect should have a strong record of involvement in the division (e.g., committee chair experience), leadership and organizational skills, and a high level of involvement in diversity research.  The position requires a five-year commitment.

Executive Committee Members

Executive Committee members, together with other division officers, are responsible for the governance of the division. Typically, nominees for the Executive Committee have contributed to the division through service (e.g., reviewer, committee membership) or diversity research or both. The position typically requires a three-year commitment.



Past Ad-Hoc Committees

The following are past ad-hoc GDO committees.

By-Laws Revision Committee

2012-2013 Diane Bilimoria (chair), David Kravits, dt ogilvie, Ron Ophir



The AOM Coalition on Faculty Diversity

2007-2008 Belle Rose Ragins and Erika James (co-chairs)


Government External Relations Committee

2005-2006 David Kravitz (chair)




Strategic Planning Committee




Communications Committee




Division Domain Committee




Parasuraman Award Task Force



Ad Hoc Committee on Awards

1999-2000 Kecia Thomas (chair)



Liaison Committee

Mission & History This Committee worked with the Asian/Asian-American Caucus, Gay-Lesbian Caucus, Ibero-American Academy (IAM), and the All-Academy People of Color Committee to coordinate matters of mutual concern.
1998-1999 d.t. ogilvie, Elaine Yakura, Betsy Cooper, Cliff Cheng


Mentorship Committee

Link Networking – Mentorship Program
2003-2004 ?
2002-2003 Ellen Ensher (chair), Belle Rose Ragins (co-chair), Ellen Fagenson Eland (co-chair), Marta Elvira (Executive Committee), David Thomas (Executive Committee)
2001-2002 Ellen Ensher (chair), Belle Rose Ragins (co-chair), Ellen Fagenson Eland (co-chair)
2000-2001 Ellen Fagenson Eland (chair)
1999-2000 Ellen Fagenson Eland (chair)


Newsletter Committee

????-???? Mary Graham (chair), Elizabeth Wilson, Liz Weatherly, Romila Singh


Regional Involvement Committee

2002-2003 Betsy Cooper (chair)


Technology Committee

Mission & History Initiated in 1999-2000 as an ad-hoc committee, to examine the use of technology in our division, identify and evaluate ideas for improving our use of technology, and propose a technology strategy for GDO.
2002-2003 Carolyn Wiethoff (chair), Jeanie Forray (Executive Committee), Karen Proudford (Executive Committee)
2001-2002 Carolyn Wiethoff (chair)
2000-2001 ?
1999-2000 Lynn Bowes-Sperry (chair)

Award Committees

2015 GDO Committees

2015 GDO Committees

1. Awards committees

2. Other appointed positions and committees


1. Awards committees

Award Name Chair  

Scholarly Contributions to Management (Lifetime) Award


Lynn Offerman  

Janet Chusmir (Lifetime) Service Award


Derek Avery  

Scholarly Contribution to Educational Practices Advancing Women in Leadership Award


Donna Blancero  

Dorothy Harlow/McGraw Hill Best Conference Paper Award


Lisa Leslie  

Best Conference Paper Based on a Dissertation Award


Oscar Holmes IV  

Best Student Conference Paper Award


Beth A. Livingston  

Faculty Transnational Research Best Conference Paper Award


Isabel Metz  

Student Transnational Research Best Conference Paper Award


David Kaplan  

Saroj Parasuraman Award for Outstanding Journal Article


Janet Barnes-Farrell  


2. Other appointed positions and committees


Committee Name Chair(s)

Archival and Historical Committee

Payal Kumar

Doctoral Consortium Committee

Caren Goldbert & Charlott Karam

Fundraising Committee

Linda Nishii

International Committee Corinne Post

Junior Faculty Consortium Committee

Rowena Ortiz-Walters & Susan Vinnicombe

Membership Committee Sanjee Perera
Media Relations Committee Jennifer Berdahl
Nominations Committee Stacy Blake-Beard
Treasurer/Division Sponsorship Structure Beth Ann Livingston
Newsletter Editor Payal Kumar & Ranjna Patel
Website Manager Janet Barnes-Farrell & David Kaplan
Technology Manager (website redesign)
Tiffany Trzebiatowski
Webinar/Vodcast Vasanthi Srinivasan & Charmine Hartel


If you are interested in serving on any of the committees, please contact the Division Chair or the Chair of the specific committee.


2014-2015 Committees and Appointed Positions


Standing Committees


The following committees are defined in the Division By Laws:



During any given year, the Division Chair (with the approval of the Executive Committee) may decide not to strike a specific standing committee.


Ad-Hoc Committees


In addition, the Division Chair, with the approval of the Executive Committee, may strike Ad-Hoc Committees to further the mission of the Division. The Ad-Hoc Committees for 2014-2015 are:


  • Doctoral Consortium Committee
  • Junior Faculty Consortium Committee
  • Fundraising Committee
  • Webinar/Vodcast Committee: GDO Issues from a Non-US Perspective


The Division Chair is an ex-officio member of all committees.

Domain Statement

The domain statement of the Gender and Diversity Division of the Academy of Management covers “content relating to gender and diversity within and outside organizational boundaries including cultural, societal, and worldwide levels, and to the influence of group relations on the structuring of societies and the production of knowledge.”


Major topics include theory and research on:


  • Gender and its intersections with race, class, and other institutionalized systems of power

  • The impact of group diversity on well-being and effectiveness at individual, group, and organizational levels of analysis

  • The impact of occupational and organizational structures on marginalized and dominant groups

  • Experiences of members of different social groups, including (but not limited to) groups differentiated by gender, race, ethnicity, class, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, nationality, religion, culture, (dis)ability, and age

  • The impact of organizational policies, practices, and discourses on dominant and marginalized groups, including critical examination of seemingly neutral assumptions underlying such policies, practices, and discourses, and their differential impact on these groups

  • The intersection of work, family, and community in relation to one’s social position

  • Institutional and structural barriers to equality and equity across social groups

  • Processes of change that create and foster inclusion, whether from external interventions or from individuals within groups or organizations

  • The impact of cultural, societal, and national diversity on workers and the workplace

  • Diversity in academia, in general, and in the field of organization studies in particular

  • Cross-national comparative approaches to all of the above.

Scroll To Top
Skip to toolbar