Saroj Parasuraman Outstanding Publication

Saroj Parasuraman Outstanding Publication Award
Sponsor: Greenleaf Publishing

The Parasuraman Award, is presented annually by the Gender and Diversity in Organizations Division to the individual or individuals who published the best journal article in the field of gender and diversity in the calendar year preceding the award. The intent of the award is to highlight scholarly activity in the field of gender and diversity and to encourage further scholarly activity within our field.

List of Past Award Winners


Year Recipients Paper Committee Members

A.C. (Astrid) Homan, U. of Amsterdam
S. (Seval) Gündemir, U. of Amsterdam
Claudia Buengeler, Kiel U.
Gerben A. van Kleef, U. of Amsterdam

Leading diversity: Towards a theory of functional leadership in diverse teams. Journal of Applied Psychology, 105(10): 1101-1128.

Samantha Paustian-Underdahl (Chair), Florida State U.

Andrew An-Chih Wang, China Europe International Business School
Winny Shen, York U.
Brent Lyons, York U.
John Lynch, U. of Illinois - Chicago
Dave Arena, UT Arlington
Alexis Smith Washington, Oklahoma State U.
Shanna Daniels, Florida State U.
Marla Baskerville Watkins, Northeastern U.


Alexis Nicole Smith, Oklahoma State University

Marla Baskerville Watkins, Northeastern University

Jamie Ladge, Northeastern University

Pamela G. Carlton, Springboard Partners in Cross Cultural Leadership

Making the invisible visible: Paradoxical effects of intersectional invisibility on the career experiences of executive Black women. Academy of Management Journal, 62, 1705-1734.

Samantha Paustian-Underdahl (Chair)

Janet Barnes-Farrell
David Hekman
Andrew An-Chih Wang
Brent Lyons
John Lynch
Jessica Roddell
Dave Arena

2019 Lynch, J. W.
Rodell, J. B.
Blend in or stand out? Interpersonal outcomes to managing concealable stigmas at work. Journal of Applied Psychology

Samantha Paustian-Underdahl (Chair)
David Baldridge
Janet Barnes-Farrell
David Hekman
Andrew An-Chih Wang
Winny Shen
Kristen Jones
Brent Lyons

2018 Shockley, K. M., Shen, W., DeNunzio, M. M., Arvan, M. L., & Knudsen, E. A. Disentangling the relationship between gender and work-family conflict: An integration of theoretical perspectives using meta-analytic methods. Journal of Applied Psychology

David Baldridge (Chair), Janet Barnes-Farrell, Joy Beatty, Stephan Boehm, Curtis Chan, David Hekman, Sonia Kang, Eden King, Samantha (Sam) Paustian-Underdahl, Andrew An-Chih Wang

2017 Kang, S. K., DeCelles, K. A., Tilcsik, A., & Jun, S. Whitened resumes: Race and self-presentation in the labor market”
Administrative Science Quarterly, 61(3), 469-502.
David Baldridge (Chair) Oregon State Univ. & National Technical Institute for the Deaf
Janet Barnes-Farrell, University of Connecticut (prior year chair)
Lilia Cortina, University of Michigan
David Hekman, University of Colorado
Eden King, George Mason University
Samantha Paustian-Underdahl, Florida International University
Andrew An-Chih Wang, National Sun Yat-sen University
2016 Curtis K. Chan and Michel Anteby “Task segregation as a mechanism for within-job inequality: Women and men of the transportation security administration” - Administrative Science Quarterly Janet Barnes-Farrell (Chair), University of Connecticut David Baldridge, Oregon State University Jeanette Cleveland, Colorado State University
Lilia Cortina, U. of Michigan
Andrew An-Chih Wang, National Sun Yat-Sen University
2015 Stephan A. Boehm, Florian Kunze, & Heike Bruch

Samantha C. Paustian-Underdahl, Lisa Slattery Walker, & David J. Woehr
“Spotlight on Age-Diversity Climate: The Impact of Age-inclusive HR Practices on Firm-level Outcomes”, Personnel Psychology, 2014, 67, 667-704.

“Gender and Perceptions of Leadership Effectiveness: A Meta-Analysis of Contextual Moderators”, Journal of Applied Psychology, 2014, 99, 1129-1145.
Janet Barnes-Farrell (Chair), Alison Sheridan, Fernanda Wagstaff, David Baldridge, Andrew Wang
2014 Michael L. McDonald & James D. Westphal  “Access denied: Low mentoring of women and minority first-time directors and its negative effects on appointments to additional boards.” Academy of Management Journal, 56, #4, 1169-1198, 2013. Maura Belliveau (Chair), Marla Baskerville Watkins, Martin Davidson, Danna Greenberg, Payal Kumar, Maria Fernanda Wagstaff
2013 Belle Rose Ragins, Jorge A. Gonzalez, Kyle Ehrhardt, & Romila Singh “Crossing the threshold: The spillover of community racial diversity and diversity climate to the workplace.” Personnel Psychology, 65, 755-787, 2012. Stacy Blake-Beard (Chair), Maura Belliveau, Alison Cook, Sonia Ghumman, and Jawad Syed
2012 Eden B. King, Jeremy F. Dawson, Michael A. West, Veronica L. Gilrane, Chad I. Peddie, and Lucy Bastin  Why Organizational and Community Diversity Matter: Representativeness and the Emergence of Incivility and Organizational Performance.” Academy of Management Journal, 54 (6), 2011. Orlando Richard (Chair), Lisa Nishii, David BAldridge, Consuelo Garcia, Sonia Ghumman, Christine Mahoney
2011 David R. Hekman, Karl Aquino, Bradley P. Owens, Terence R. Mitchell, Pauline Schilpzand and Keith Leavitt “An Examination of whether and how racial and gender biases influence customer satisfaction” Patrick Mckay (chair), Mustafa Ozbilgin, Jennifer Berdahl, Kathleen Campbell, Olivia (Mandy) O’Neill, Amy Randel
2010 Aparna Joshi and Hyuntak Roh “The role of context in work team diversity” David Kravitz (Chair), Judith Clair, Jorg Dietz, Lars-Eric Petersen, Susan Vinnicombe

Lars-Eric Petersen and Jorge Dietz

Patrick McKay, Derek Avery and Mark Morris
“Employment Discrimination: Authority Figures’ Demographic Preferences and Followers’ Affective Organizational Commitment.

“Mean Racial-Ethnic Differences in Employee Sales Performance: The Moderating Role of Diversity Climate.”
David Harrison, Katherine Klein, Belle Rose Ragins, Hannah Riley-Bowles
2008 David Harrison and Katherine Klein What’s the difference?  Diversity constructs as separation, variety, or disparity in organizations”.  2007, Academy of Management Review, 32(4), 1199-1228.“ Gayle Baugh (Chair), Jeff Greenhaus, Sherry Sullivan.

Back to Awards