Janet Chusmir Distinguished Service

Janet Chusmir Distinguished Service Award
Sponsor: Sage Publications

2022 Nominations are Now Open!
Deadline to submit a nomination: March 15, 2022

About the award: The Janet Chusmir Service Award is presented to the nominee who has made an outstanding contribution to The Gender and Diversity Division and who has personally served as a mentor and role model for others in the field (previously: personally provided support for women in the field).



Nomination instructions: To nominate a GDO colleague (no self-nominations), use the button featured below to submit a letter of nomination outlining the nominee’s outstanding contributions (see below) and a copy of the nominee’s vita. Include any supporting information that will help the committee make its decision.

Criteria for the award: Contributions include professional service to the division, work for the advancement of the status and role of professional women and people of color in the Academy, and/or in organizations. Please refer any questions to Eddy Ng (eddy.ng@queensu.ca), GDO Executive Committee.

List of past award winners:

Year Recipient University Affiliation
(at time of award)
Committee Members
2021 Not presented


2020 Derek Avery Wake Forest University

Erika Hall (chair), Emory University

Lisa Nishii, Cornell University

Joy Beatty, University of Michigan- Dearborn


2019 Lisa H. Nishii Cornell University

Erika Hall (chair), Emory University

Alison Hall, U. of Texas at Arlington

Robin Ely, Harvard U.

Joy Beatty, University of Michigan- Dearborn

2018 Robin Ely Harvard University

Erika Hall (chair), Emory University

Derek Avery, Wake Forest University  

Diana Bilimoria, Case Western Reserve University

Joy Beatty, University of Michigan- Dearborn

2017 Not presented
2016 Diana Bilimoria Case Western University Lisa M. Leslie (Chair), New York University
Stacy Blake-Beard, Simmons College
Jonathan Booth, London School of Economics
Belle Rose Ragins, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
Alison Sheridan, University of New England, New South Wales, Australia
2015 Stacy D. Blake-Beard Simmons College Derek Avery (Chair), Alison Sheridan, Belle Rose Ragins, Alison Konrad, Jonathan Booth


2014 Bernardo Ferdman Alliant International University Derek Avery and Isabel Metz (Co-chairs), Muhammad Ali, Beth Chung, Douglas Johnson, Belle Ragins, Sherry Sullivan
2013 Dianna Stone SUNY Albany Derek Avery (Chair), Janice Witt Smith, Isabel Metz, Sherry Sullivan, Ahu Tatli, Carolyn Wiethoff
2012 David Kravitz George Mason University Robyn Berkley (Chair), C. Douglas Johnson, Belle Rose Ragins, Sherry Sullivan,Beth Chung, Donna Blancero
2011 Belle Rose Ragins University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Donna Blancero (chair), C. Douglas Johnson, Beth Livingston, Whitney Botsford Morgan, Lourdes Susaeta, Sherry Sullivan
2010 Not presented Donna Blancero (chair), Kecia Thomas, Isabel Metz, Ghadir Ishqaidef, Robert Del Campo, Miguel Olivas-Lujan
2009 Kecia Thomas University of Georgia Donna Maria Blancero (chair), Myrtle Bell, Robyn Berkley, Robert Del Campo, Isabel Metz, Miguel Olivas-Lujan
2008 Myrtle Bell University of Texas, Arlington
2007 Gayle Baugh University of West Florida
2006 Not presented
2005 Charmine Hartel Deakin University Robert Sardy (chair), Donna Chrobot-Mason, Jeffrey Greenhaus, Claire Simmers, Kathy Duncan, Christopher Kit Tennis
2004 Alison Konrad University of Western Ontario
2003 Ellen A. Fagenson-Eland George Mason University Faye smith (chair)
2002 Sherry E. Sullivan Bowling Green State University / John Reed Center for Careers Marian Ruderman (chair), Max Wortman, Lynn Bowes-Sperry, Gayle Baugh, Monica Forret, Martin Davidson, Frieda Reitman, Dorothy Perrin Moore, Phyllis Tharenou
2001 Max Wortman Iowa State University Sherry E. Sullivan (chair), Yasmin S. Purohit, Lisa Mainiero, Jamie Moore, Gary Powell, Claire A. Simmers
2000 Not presented
1999 Not presented
1998 Not presented
1997 Stella M. Nkomo
1996 Janet Adams
1995 Lynda Moore
1994 Gary Powell
1993 Dorothy (Dot) P. Moore
1992 Bette Ann Stead

Back to Awards