Discussion: View Thread

Brewster Questions Elitism in the next IHM Webinar, Thursday Sep 15

  • 1.  Brewster Questions Elitism in the next IHM Webinar, Thursday Sep 15

    Posted 08-24-2022 13:32
    Sign up and save the date!

    Questioning Elitism in International Human Resource Management Studies

    ABOUT THE PRESENTATION

    I will argue that IHRM (like business and management studies in general and human resource management studies specifically) has operated from an elitist base: that has not only led to a distortion in our research but has led to some unwanted, negative and even nefarious outcomes. This has been caused by our focus on the interests of owners of businesses (when the vast majority of people are not owners); on large international organizations (when 95% of people work in small local ones); on managers and executives (when 80% of people are neither); on talent management (when 95% of people are not classed as talent); on western organizations (when most of the world does not fit into that category); on employed people (when increasing proportions of workers are outside employment); on indigenous populations (when increasing numbers are migrants); etc. What this means is that we have largely ignored the problems and issues of most people in the world. I will suggest that focusing on the non-elite will avoid contributing further to the negative impact our work has created so far and positively address some of the Grand Challenges that the world is facing.

    Date

    Time

    Thursday, September 15, 2022

    8:30 – 9:30 a.m. PDT (San Francisco, Seattle, Vancouver)

    11:30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. EDT (Boston, New York, Miami)

    4:30 – 5:30 p.m. BST (United Kingdom)

    5:30 – 6:30 p.m. CEST (Vienna, Berlin, Paris, Zagreb)

    6:30 – 7:30 p.m. TRT, MSK (Istanbul, Moscow)

    11:30 p.m. - 12:30 a.m. CST (Beijing, Hong Kong, Shanghai, Taipei)

    12:30 – 1:30 a.m. JST (Tokyo, Kyoto)

    1:30 – 2:30 a.m. AEST (Melbourne, Sydney)

    3:30 – 4:30 p.m. UCT

    Use this Time Zone Converter to find your local time.

    As an international partnership, the IHRM series welcomes speakers from all over the world and multiple time zones. This session will be recorded to share with registrants who are not able to attend the live session.

    Event Access

    This event will be hosted on Zoom. Access links will be provided 24 hours prior to the start.

    Registration

    Tickets are complimentary but registration is required to attend or receive the link to the recording. Please register online with Eventbrite

    Inquiries

    ABOUT THE SPEAKER

    Prof. Chris Brewster

    Chris Brewster is Professor of International Human Resource Management at Henley Business School, University of Reading, UK. He was successively a steeplejack, a union official, an official in the UK's Ministry of Labour, a personnel manager in the construction and aviation industries, a journalist and consultant. During that time, he obtained his doctorate from the LSE before becoming an academic.

    As an academic, he studies international and comparative human resource management. He is a frequent conference speaker and teaches at Universities around the world. He has written or edited nearly forty books, including, recently, the Handbook of Research on Comparative Human Resource Management and Working Internationally: Expatriation, Migration and other International Work. He has also published more than 150 book chapters and more than 250 articles in refereed journals. According to Googlescholar he has been cited more than 25,000 times and has an h-index of 84. In 2002 Chris was awarded the Georges Petitpas Memorial Award by the practitioner body, the World Federation of Personnel Management Associations, in recognition of his outstanding contribution to international human resource management; and in 2006 Chris was awarded an Honorary Doctorate by the University of Vaasa, Finland.

    This session will be moderated by Maja Vidovic, Senior Lecturer of the Faculty of Economics and Business at RIT Croatia.

    ABOUT THE SERIES

    This event is part of an IHRM Webinar Series, organized by the Centre for Global Workforce Strategy at Simon Fraser University (Canada), the Center for International Human Resource Studies at the Pennsylvania State University (USA), Pennsylvania Western University (USA), ESCP Business School and RIT Croatia (Europe).

    Previous installments of the IHRM Webinar Series are available online at our YouTube Channel.



    ------------------------------
    Miguel R. Olivas-Lujan, Ph.D.
    Professor & former Chair, Management & Marketing dept.
    Pennsylvania Western U.; Clarion, PA USA 16214
    Senior Editor, Advanced Series in Management
    Email: molivas@pennwest.edu
    ------------------------------