Gender and Diversity in Organizations

Dorothy Harlow/McGraw Hill Best Paper Award

Dorothy Harlow/McGraw Hill Best Paper Award



Sponsor: McGraw Hill



Given annually to author(s) of the best paper submitted to the Annual Academy of Management Meeting, this award honors the late Dr. Dorothy Harlow, who pioneered the effort to establish the Gender and Diversity in Organizations Division as an Interest Group of the Academy of Management. Dr. Harlow’s dedication to the organizing efforts and advancement of professional women will be etched in gold as this award is given annually. Recipients of the Award each receive a plaque and a cash award.



2015 Committee

Lisa Leslie (Chair), Sabrina DeeAnn Volpone, Adela McMurray, Florian Kunze, Yunhung Chung



Winners 2014

Carol T. Kulik, Mara Olekalns, & Ema T. Swain

for “Does consistency pay The effects of information sequence and content on women’s negotiation outcomes.”




Past Recipients



Muhammad Ali & Yin Lu Ng

for “Board Age and Gender Diversity: A Test of Competing Linear and Curvilinear Predictions“.


Belle Rose Ragins, Jorge A. Gonzalez, Kyle Erhardt, and Romila Singh
for “The Spillover of Community Racial Diversity and Diversity Climate to the Workplace.”


Runners Up

William Newburry, Naomi Gardberg, Bryant Hudson and

Yonathon Feffer

for “Organizational Actions in the Face of Institutional Contestation: Diffusion of LBGT-Friendly Policies“.

2011 Orlando Richard and Goce Andrevski:
“The complementary effect of managerial diversity and board of directors diversity on performance.”
2010 Whitney Botsford Morgan:
“Mothers’ Psychological Contracts:  Does Supervisor Breach Explain Intention to Leave the Workforce?”
2009 Muhammad Ali, Carol Kulik and Isabel Metz:
“The Impact of Gender Diversity on Performance in Services and Manufacturing Organizations.”
2008 Aparna Joshi and Hyuntak Roh: 
“Considering context in team diversity research: A meta-analytic review.”
2007 Patrick McKay, Derek Avery & Mark Morris:
“The interaction of subordinates’ and managers’ diversity climates on store unit sales performance.”
2006 DHui Liao, Aichia Chuang and Aparna Joshi:
“Work Outcomes and Personality Antecedents of Perceived Deep-Level Dissimilarity.”
2005 David Baldridge, Oregon State University:
Withholding accommodation requests: The role of workgroup supportiveness and requester attributes.
2004 Orlando C. Richard, University of Texas at Dallas:
Does race matter within a multicultural context: Alternate modes of theorizing and theory testing.
2003 Jana L. Raver & Michele J. Gelfand, University of Maryland: “Linking sexual harassment, team processes and team performance.”  
2002 Donna Chrobot-Mason & William K. Hepworth, University of Colorado at Denver:
Examining perceptions of objective and subjective racial harassment and managerial responses.”
2001 Belle Rose Ragins, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, & John M. Cornwell, Loyola University-New Orleans:
Walking the line: Fear and disclosure of sexual orientation in the workplace.
2000 Belle Rose Ragins, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, & John M. Cornwell, Loyola University-New Orleans:
Pink triangles: Antecedents and consequences of heterosexism in the workplace.”
1998 Marta M. Elvira & Christopher D. Zatzick:
Racial composition and voluntary turnover in a multiracial setting.

Past Committees



Gail Baugh and Lisa Leslie (Co-chairs), Muhammad Ali, Alison Cook, Jacqueline Hood


Gail Baugh (Chair), E. Holly Buttner, Beth Livingston, Susan Marlow, Whitney Botsford Morgan, Lisa Nishii


David Kravitz (Chair), Alison Cook, patrick McKay, Whitney Botsford Morgan, Sue Vinnicombe


Joy Beatty (Chair), Lisa Nishii, Gernanda Wagstaff, David Baldridge and Christine Mahoney


Joy Beatty (chair), Lisa Nishii, David Baldridge, Maria Fernanda Garcia, Christine Mahoney, Sabrina Volpone


Jeannie Forray (chair), Mark Roehling, Patrick McKay, Audrey Murrell, Kristina Bourne, Douglas Johnston, Jeanine Andreassi


Stacy Blake-Beard (chair), Lisa Nishii, Loriann Roberson, Deborah Litvin, Ujvala Rajadhyaksha


Stacy Blake-Beard (chair), Peggy Stockdale, Orlando Richards, Marta Elvira, Charmine Hartel.


Jeffrey Greenhaus (chair), Myrtle Bell, Lene Foss, Cherry Granrose, Claire Simmers.


Lynn Bowes-Sperry (chair), David Porter, (Executive Committee), Susan Vinnicombe (Executive Committee).


Elaine Yakura (chair)

Scroll To Top
Skip to toolbar